Minimum Wage in Malaysia

Once again another foreigner called me yesterday to seek some labour law advice and when I informed that we have yet to come up with a minimum wage system, I sensed the delivery of a shocking message.

Today, I read an article on the Sun (http://www.thesundaily.my/news/209131) reassuring the general public that the wage advisory council will announce a minimum wage proposal by year end.

It is interesting to know the proposal judging on the fact that we are trying to implement a system which is not only confined to a minimum wage but it differs according to specific industries and their geographical location.

The big question here is whether or not Malaysian employers are ready to provide for this minimum standard? Will the implementation of this minimum wage system attract high levels of unemployment in the country? Lets wait and see if the Council has taken into consideration the above mentioned concerns when they unveil their masterplan next month.